Ant with Leaf

I went for a hike a few weeks ago, and stopped for a snack. As I cracked open my pistachio shells and nibbled, I looked around, admiring the scenery. And then I heard a faint scratching on the sandstone to my left. I looked down to see this tenacious ant trying to carry away a flake from the inside of one of my pistachios. It got pretty far before a breeze came, carrying the pistachio piece away. Poor guy.

5 Responses to “Ant with Leaf”

  1. wowee! ants are pretty amazing, right? what a shot.

  2. Wow! That is a F-ant-astic picture! đŸ™‚

  3. Emily, I so agree. I can’t believe how much weight one ant can carry.

    Thanks, Robin! It took a few tries before my focus worked the way I wanted it too. Thank goodness the ant was moving slowly because of the size of its load!

  4. Oh my!!! I just blogged about the ant yesterday, what an amazing creature!! Your photo is amazing!!! I am so impressed with your work, I am inspired!

  5. Ooh, I just looked, SuRi! Fun series.

Leave a comment